Magazine Cover Shoot

For our magazine brief we had to plan a magazine cover and shoot it, this had to include props and shielding the models identity so that it didn’t really look like themselves in a way. In order to show the models identity we had to choose our lighting carefully to really show this. For my magazine shoot I was able to shoot it in a studio space using an RX300 lighting kit and poly boards to make my background for the shoot.

Lighting Diagram 

img_7798

This is my lighting diagram that I used to shoot my magazine cover; this is just a basic diagram as during the shoot I changed where the light was to maximise the light on the model. As a background I used the black side of the poly board as I thought that this would look more interesting for a background; I had my model stand in front of the poly board or at some points I used a chair for the model to sit on.

After the shoot I imported all my photos into light room to begin editing, I found light room quite easy to use once I got the hang of it as I had never used this program before. I then found two images which I would use for my cover and inside spread, I then began adjusting the exposure and contrast on each of the image to make them look more dramatic.

 

img_7801

This was me choosing my images for my cover and inside spread, even though I had never used lightroom before I quite enjoyed using it and found it really easy to use.

These are my images for my magazine brief, I think even though I used a studio and professional lighting which worked well I could’ve thought of more props to use which I will next time to enhance my images more.

Leave a Reply

